Le Petit Mort: Lumiere Duo

Lumiere Duo

Listen now and order from ArkivMusicAmazoniTunes, and from all major retailers and digital outlets.

This CD of sensuous, Baroque tunes is the perfect, romantic gift. Beautifully played by Victoria Paterson and Robert Burkhart of the Lumiere String Quartet, this gorgeous collection of violin & cello duos goes perfectly with flowers, a box of chocolates, or a gourmet dinner with candles and wine. Includes the famous Pachelbel's Canon, Bach's Air, Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring and more.

The title track, Le Petit Mort, is a play on a French phrase meaning "The Little Death." This long lost work is attributed to one of the first, great female composers, Elisabeth-Claude Jacquet de la Guerre. The legend goes that before her husband passed away in 1704, she wrote this work as a gift for her secret lover who longed for her while her husband was still alive, but dared not reveal himself. This piece was a secret message to her lover that if he waited, he would experience Le Petit Mort.


Le Petit Mort-Cover-Square.jpg
  1. Sonata in D minor: Preludio - Antonio Corelli

  2. Sonata in D minor: Corrente - Antonio Corelli

  3. Sonata in D minor: Sarabanda - Antonio Corelli

  4. Sonata in D minor: Giga - Antonio Corelli

  5. Allegretto - Francois Couperin

  6. La Voluptuese - Francois Couperin

  7. Tambourin - Jean-Phillipe Rameau

  8. Rigaudon - Jean-Phillipe Rameau

  9. Le Petit Mort - Elisabeth-Claude Jacquet de la Guerre

  10. Sarabanda - Evaristo Felice Dall’Abaco

  11. Allegro - Evaristo Felice Dall’Abaco

  12. Gavotte - Henry Purcell

  13. Passacaglia from Dido & Aeneas - Henry Purcell

  14. Rondeau - Henry Purcell

  15. Largo - Antonio Vivaldi

  16. Allegro - Antonio Vivaldi

  17. Winter from The Four Seasons - Antonio Vivaldi

  18. Bouree in g minor - Johann Sebastian Bach

  19. Bouree in d minor - Johann Sebastian Bach

  20. Gavotte & Musette from Suite No. 3 - Johann Sebastian Bach

  21. Air from Suite No. 3 - Johann Sebastian Bach

  22. Jesu, Joy on Man’s Desiring - Johann Sebastian Bach

  23. Canon in D - Johann Pachelbel

  24. Courante - George Frideric Handel

  25. Hornpipe from Water Music - George Frideric Handel

  26. Rejouissance from Royal Fireworks - George Frideric Handel

  27. Air - George Frideric Handel

  28. Gavotte - George Frideric Handel

  29. Contrapunctus - George Frideric Handel

Total Time: 60:04